This was going to be The Ant and the Grasshopper, but for some reason, I just was unable to produce a suitable illustration. Maybe later it will come together. Moving on to the next fable on the list, The Hare and the Tortoise. I can’t get Bugs Bunny out of my mind when working on this one, which is just fine by me.

Some pencil sketches

Hare01

Rabbits always look a little disapproving or angry in real life. The Hare in the fable would probably look a little more raw than the sleeping rabbit I sketched the above from.

Tortoise01

Thank you, YouTube and user vempulaaa for the vid of your running tortoise. Yes, the feet are going to be fixed. The Tortoise probably had a similar look of contempt and anger when passing the sleeping Hare.

Fable01

The English text with the title in Greek characters. The longest text so far, which means the overall sheet will have to be large. That may require a balancing corner design…

